Albany County Public Library

 

Book Clubs

We have many book clubs that cover various genres. Contact the library for more information or to check on the availability of titles.

 

After Hours Book Club

Last Tuesday, Library Restaurant upstairs, 7:15pm

Books are chosen by club members, so the topics and genres vary.

September 25: Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

October 30: Bless Me, Ultima by Rudolfo Anaya

 

Beyond Borders Book Club

Second Wednesday, Library Restaurant upstairs, 7pm

Each month we feature a book from a different country of the world

October 10: Meet and greet to decide on the first book

November 14: Discussion of the first book

 
Murder Club: A True Crime Book Club

Second Thursday, Library Sports Grille, 7pm

A book club for fans of Serial, My Favorite Murder, and Forensic Files – each month we’ll delve into infamous murders, serial killers, and other true crime mysteries.

September 13: All-American Murder: the rise and fall of Aaron Hernandez, the super star whose life ended on murder's row, by James Patterson 

October 11: And the Sea Will Tell, by Vincent Bugliosi 

November 8: Part II of And the See Will Tell, by Vincent Bugliosi 

December 14: I'll Be Gone In the Dark: One Woman's Obsessive Search for the Golden State Killer. by Michelle McNamara

January 10: Imperfect Justice: Prosecuting Casey Anthony, by Jeff AshtonF

February 14: Devil's Knot: The True Story of the West Memphis Three, by Mara Leveritt 

 

Cozy Mystery Book Club

Third  Monday, Main Area of the library, 2pm  

If you’re an armchair detective who prefers their mystery stories heavy on the small town charm and light on the sex and violence, this book club is for you!

An Alphabet of Cozy Mysteries

August 20: Ghost at Work by, Caroline Hart 

September 17: A Man with a Load of Mischief by, Martha Grimes 

October 15: Cover Her Face, by P.D James 

November 19: The Ritual Bath by, Faye Kellerman 

December 17: The Spellman Files, by Lisa Lutz 

 

Quintessential Sequential

First Wednesday of each month at the Rib and Chop House, 7pm 

A place for interested newcomers and fans of the sequential art form of literature (graphic novels, comic books, manga, etc.) to discover and discuss all the beautiful provocative and heroic stories this form has to offer.

October 3rd: Indeh a story of the Apache Wars, by Ethan Hawke and Greg Ruth