Albany County Public Library

 

Book Clubs

We have many book clubs that cover various genres. Contact the library for more information or to check on the availability of titles.

 

After Hours Book Club

Last Tuesday, Library Restaurant upstairs, 7pm

Books are chosen by club members, so the topics and genres vary.

June 26: The Fifth Season by, N.K. Jemisin

July 31: Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by, Lewis Carroll  

 
True Crime Book Club

Second Thursday, Library Sports Grille, 7pm

A book club for fans of Serial, My Favorite Murder, and Forensic Files – each month we’ll delve into infamous murders, serial killers, and other true crime mysteries.

July 12: Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by, John Berendt 

August 9: Under the Banner of Heaven by, Jon Krakauer

 

Cozy Mystery Book Club

Third  Monday, Main Area of the library, 2pm  

If you’re an armchair detective who prefers their mystery stories heavy on the small town charm and light on the sex and violence, this book club is for you!

An Alphabet of Cozy Mysteries

July 16: Crewel World by, Monica Ferris 

August 13: Ghost at Work by, Caroline Hart 

Quintessential Sequential

First Wednesday, Rib and Chop House, 7pm 

*July and August meetings will take place on the second Wednesday.*

A place for interested newcomers and fans of the sequential art form of literature (graphic novels, comic books, manga, etc.) to discover and discuss all the beautiful provocative and heroic stories this form has to offer.

July 11: Runaways  by, Brain K. Vaughan 

August 9: Asterios Polyp by, David Mazzucchelli